TRO BUY ZONE - PROGRAM FIX

post your indicators here

Moderator: moderators

ribs
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2007 1:17 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: Female

Postby ribs » Tue Apr 24, 2007 3:07 am

TheRumpledOne wrote:I just remembered a couple of things...

1) The BuyZone won't work on the weekends if you are using DAILYOPEN because it is a QUOTE FIELD AND because the current date doesn't match the date of the last bar on the chart (Friday's bar).

2) Make sure your session is REGULAR hours or the open price won't be correct unless the instrument you are trading starts at a different time.

3) If you post your workspace, then others can load it and see if they can figure out what's wrong.


OK, This is pretty funny. I gave up and went out to get away from the computer and when I came back the lines were there. So you were right. LOL.
Thanks again,
Robin

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

User avatar
jtrade
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu May 18, 2006 3:14 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Amsterdam
Gender: Male

Postby jtrade » Fri Apr 27, 2007 3:20 pm

TRO - ony just noticed the fix.

Thanks

J.

atreverie
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 31, 2006 10:18 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Futures 'BuyZone' Settings

Postby atreverie » Fri May 04, 2007 7:30 am

Does anyone have any input on what buyzone settings would be appropriate to futures contracts? I am using tradestation 8.2 and decided to try and use the monetary point value comparative of the forex settings of .0003/.0004 to 6/8 on the YM futures contract (idecimal value of 0) and on the ER2 it would be .3/.4 (idecimal value of 2). Any other ideas or suggestions?

Also, I want to plot from the cash market open on the futures contract. So, as an example on a 5 minute chart, I needed to change the iOpen setting manually as tradestation will plot the bar open at the close of the 08:25(CT) bar at 08:30AM(CT) but the actual cash market open will be the open of the 08:35(CT) print bar which begins printing at 08:30(CT). Otherwise, this will give an incorrect buyzone reading. So for 5/3/07 on the YM, the iOpen input could be changed to dailyopen - 8 or simply 13267 for the cash market open. I'm a terrible programmer so it'll have to be manual for now.

Thank you TRO for the willingness to share your knowledge.

zeller4
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 152
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2006 9:16 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Geneva, FL
Gender: None specified

Postby zeller4 » Fri May 04, 2007 10:39 am

Check out this thread for the ER2

Russell Trade Zones

not sure about the YM settings

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11396
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Fri May 04, 2007 12:10 pm

The 8:35 bar CLOSES at 8:35 and OPENS at 8:30.

That IS the daily open.

The close of the 8:25 Bar is NOT the daily open.
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!

Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

ZNO
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 7:10 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: California
Gender: Male

Futures Start time funk

Postby ZNO » Fri May 04, 2007 3:35 pm

Rosenskier, RumpledOne, et. all

Thanks for the simple buy zone code for plotting on charts. While I did apply it effectively on ES and YM, I'm running into something bizarre on Soybeans.
The start time I specify returns opening values that are way off (88 ticks!) from the actual open and that price hasn't been seen in 5 full trading days
.
Any thoughts on what the problem is or what another reserved word/function might be to return the price for a specific time of day?

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11396
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Fri May 04, 2007 4:05 pm

Check the iDecimal input.
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!



Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

ZNO
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 7:10 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: California
Gender: Male

Still having buy zone bean issues

Postby ZNO » Fri May 04, 2007 9:14 pm

Thanks Rumpled One,

His code has no decimal point input, just the input "exchangestarttime" and the different inputs for buy zone levels.
The odd thing is that while the time 0930 or 1030 doesn't work on SN07, changing it to 1130 works just fine.

Perplexedly itchy,

ZNO aka "Sunscreen"

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11396
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Sat May 05, 2007 6:58 pm

ZNO:

What buyzone indicator are you using?

If you look at the first post of this trade, you'll see the examples and I mention how to set the inputs including iDecimals.

HTH.
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!



Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

ZNO
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 03, 2007 7:10 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: California
Gender: Male

Postby ZNO » Mon May 07, 2007 6:17 pm

RTO,

I'm using what Rosenskier posted - very simple:
I'm paraphrasing the logic:

If time= input"exchangeOpenTime", then
variable"OpenPrice"= open.

Plot 5lines to show various levels at, above and below open.

Intrabar update are turned off, regular session times are selected.

Short of manually putting in the open price each day, I'm not sure how much simpler this approach can be?

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.


Return to “Tradestation indicators”