TRO BUY ZONE - KEEP IT SIMPLE

post your indicators here

Moderator: moderators

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11440
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Sun May 27, 2007 1:26 am

You know all those traders on the TS forum ( who never share code ) imply the Buy Zone isn't any good because I never provided backtest to prove it to them. They imply since it's not a strategy it has no merit.

Meanwhile, tjmxxx just makes money using the Buy Zone in real time trading with real money... go figure!!

"Could have been much more, but I guess I still don't have my mind right and take profits in even numbers-----LOL. I need work on this!" THAT'S GREED TALKING, tjmxxx - BE CAREFUL!!
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!

Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11440
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Mon May 28, 2007 10:38 pm

SMAA BUY ZONE ENHANCEMENT




I used TRO PLOT to plot the weekly open ( openw(0) ) and I modified SMAA BuyZone to have an iOpen input in the radarscreen.

Notice you can trade the weekly open buyzone all week long. For those who are longer term traders, this is a trade to consider.

Notice how the previous week's open ( white dots ) acted like resistance for the current week!!

ELD attached.
Attachments
SMAA_BUYZONE.ELD
(5.82 KiB) Downloaded 199 times
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!



Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

cvax
rank: 50+ posts
rank: 50+ posts
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 12:45 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby cvax » Wed May 30, 2007 8:42 am

I'm interested in how you determine the ranges for the buy zones. How did you come across AAPL to have its zones +/- 0.10 from open and how did you come up with 0.03/0.04 for forex? Does the same zone you use for AAPL apply for the whole herd you have their TRO?

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11440
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Wed May 30, 2007 12:48 pm

I used statistics to determine the zones.

Yes, the whole herd uses the same zone.
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!



Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

tradecrazy
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Aug 13, 2006 6:26 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Buy Zone disappearing off chart

Postby tradecrazy » Thu May 31, 2007 4:35 pm

TRO,
Do you know what could be causing the _TRO_BuyZone to be dissappearing from the chart? It appears briefly when I click on a new symbol but then suddenly goes away.

thanks,
Mark

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

Shane280us
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:04 am
Reputation: 0
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Gender: Male

Trade Zone setup check

Postby Shane280us » Sat Jun 02, 2007 3:23 pm

I've been reading through the thread and trying to understand but I'm having alot of trouble setting up the AUD and I'm not sure if I'm doing something wrong with my numbers. Can somone check my set up for me pse.

I'm getting how the setup works candle green, in the tradezone, go long above open etc, it's just as I swap between currencies and change the set up numbers. EUR 0.0003/.0004 JPY 0.3/0.4 etc. I guess because I've not seen this before I'm not sure what it's supposed to look like. But the AUD does not seem correct so any help appreciated.
Attachments
Tradezone.png
Tradezone.png (152.26 KiB) Viewed 1495 times
Tradezone settings1.png
Tradezone settings1.png (13.45 KiB) Viewed 1495 times

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11440
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Sun Jun 03, 2007 10:10 pm

The AUD buyzone should be .0003 / .0004.

What are you using?
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!



Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

Shane280us
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 1:04 am
Reputation: 0
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Gender: Male

Postby Shane280us » Wed Jun 06, 2007 10:41 pm

Thanks TRO, thats what it was I was using .003/.004. All good now though.

User avatar
Tyler19
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Feb 05, 2007 5:24 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Burke, VA
Gender: Male
Contact:

Postby Tyler19 » Thu Jun 07, 2007 3:16 am

TRO how do you determine the opening price for each pair? I use QuoteTracker so I have to make the lines manually

BlowFish
rank: 50+ posts
rank: 50+ posts
Posts: 68
Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 8:09 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby BlowFish » Thu Jun 07, 2007 12:21 pm

TheRumpledOne wrote:I used statistics to determine the zones.

Yes, the whole herd uses the same zone.


Hi Avery,

Do you pull data into Excel or something? Or is TS adequate. I guess you are looking for numbers that historically if they break go for at least X points a high percentage (Y) of times? just interested in learning a bit more about the process used to come up with numbers? I'd like to have a crack applying the concept to other instruments (DAX is appealing)

Thanks :)

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.


Return to “Tradestation indicators”