TheRumpledOne Donational Indicators

free & uncensored discussion arena for TheRumpledOne

Moderator: moderators

nvm313
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 2:45 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

inside bar indicator

Postby nvm313 » Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:10 pm

I got my IB indicators....thanks TRO!

I want to use only the InsideBarTradeforDummies indicator for now. I'm a new user of this indicator, so can anyone pls tell me how to use it?
Ex. when it says Get Ready, do I enter the LT & ST prices as pending/oco orders or just enter at mkt (instant execution) when the price is hit?

Thanks to anyone who would reply :)

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

nvm313
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 2:45 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby nvm313 » Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:14 pm

Btw, when do we exit the trade? I mean how many pips do we generally aim for when using the M5 or M15 timeframes with the InsideBar indicator?

Thanks again!

pierre23
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 313
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 3:17 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby pierre23 » Mon Feb 02, 2009 11:33 pm

When you see the Get Ready, you enter the Limit orders it says there. Don't be greedy, if you see 10 pips you could close half your position and let the rest go.. depends on your money management etc. If you look at the 5 or 15min IB table you can see most of the time there is a fair decent profit to be had. To be on the safe side you could aim for 10pips..after all there will be lots of IB opportunities throughout the day, especially on the lower time frames.

nvm313
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 2:45 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby nvm313 » Tue Feb 03, 2009 12:04 am

Thanks pierre23!

Btw, one more question:
Why is the IB indicator showing different numbers in the currency charts? Aren't they supposed to show all the same numbers regardless of which pair I look at (I use the M5 for all)?

If this is the case, which chart or numbers should I then follow?

I'm really confused :?

pierre23
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 313
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 3:17 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby pierre23 » Tue Feb 03, 2009 12:41 am

I don't see why they shouldn't be the same.. I've never really taken notice. If they arn't I'm not sure why. Just before you take a trade, look at the previous bar and see if it's an Inside Bar to confirm. IB's are simple, if you don't know what one is just google it.

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

nvm313
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 2:45 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby nvm313 » Tue Feb 03, 2009 1:00 am

Thanks, maybe it was just acting up....

Btw, should I add the spread to the trigger price when I put in my limit orders?

pierre23
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 313
Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2008 3:17 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby pierre23 » Tue Feb 03, 2009 1:08 am

Personally, I wait 10 pips AFTER the trigger price before entering and look for 5-10pips profit. If you look at the IB chart you can see most of the time there is 20+ pips profit.

When I use IB for trading this is what I do and take what I can get.

So it wouldn't hurt to add on the spread to the trigger.. See what works for you.

nvm313
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 2:45 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby nvm313 » Tue Feb 03, 2009 1:26 am

Thanks a lot, pierre23, for all your replies!

FunDip
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 18, 2007 9:16 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Denver
Gender: Male
Contact:

Postby FunDip » Tue Feb 03, 2009 4:39 pm

TRO -

Thanks for all your hard work, and for the update to the 2009 indicators.

I am really enjoying having your time/sales indicator as part of my decision making process - great work!

I would like to change the time it collects and displays the "Last" number to 5 minutes. I've looked through your code, but can't find anything obvious to modify - can you point me in the right direction if its possible? I am assuming that I'm understanding what its doing: it collects the upticks/downticks for 1 minute, and then displays the net direction of the ticks for the last minute, green net up, red net down.

I wrote an indicator in TS many years ago that plotted a dot on any candle that showed the opposite of internal direction i.e., 5 min. red candle with more upticks than downticks...it was usually good for a quick scalp. Your time/sales indicator reminded me of that, and how much I liked it...

Any guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks again -

ww

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11440
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Tue Feb 03, 2009 11:39 pm

You would have to change this section of code:

TOS = TimeToStr(TimeCurrent(), TIME_MINUTES ) ;

if( ThisMin != TimeMinute(TimeCurrent()) )
{
ThisMin = TimeMinute(TimeCurrent()) ;
OldTPM = TPM ;
TPM = 0 ;
}



You need to see if the time ends in 0 or 5. If it does, then reset the count (TPM) to 0.
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!

Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.


Return to “TheRumpledOne”