P&F charts suck, don't use them...

free & uncensored discussion arena for TheRumpledOne

Moderator: moderators

User avatar
bredin
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1032
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:41 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby bredin » Thu Sep 29, 2011 4:38 am

Thanks Jal, I have a fix in mind that should sort most things out at once..

I noticed on a 1x chart a few hours ago that it drew a new (singe) bar, but got the color wrong... it was the right color on the debug screen tho :lol:

Time to get the heavy handed hammer fixer out :) there may be some slight performance decline every now and then...

G.
Welcome to the era of "Guns and Maskies" Trading!
The previous message contains discretion. Viewer nudity is advised.
Insanity Industries Indicators Here
Insanity Industries on YouTube!

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

User avatar
bredin
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1032
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:41 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby bredin » Thu Sep 29, 2011 4:59 am

btw, guys if you use m5 instead of m1 the timestamps will shift slightly...

G.
Welcome to the era of "Guns and Maskies" Trading!
The previous message contains discretion. Viewer nudity is advised.
Insanity Industries Indicators Here
Insanity Industries on YouTube!

User avatar
PebbleTrader
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1632
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:15 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby PebbleTrader » Thu Sep 29, 2011 6:02 am

Isn't PRICE the same no matter what TF you look at?

I thought we were using 30S and 1M so we could get the finer granularity in PA? Extreme example being, if we used hourly data, you would have no idea how many times price went up / down / reversed / etc within that high / low of 1 hourly candle...
Life is just a journey

User avatar
bredin
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1032
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:41 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby bredin » Thu Sep 29, 2011 10:38 am

Ideally Id read this from tickdata... which MT4 doesnt do, and the executive decision was made not to use tick data in MT5 either.....

but you are right about wanting to see every retrace possible. M5 will lose some bars, but not the overall shape....


btw guys Ive come across a weird bug that only seems to happen on M1 charts:
if youre getting a double bar at the end and the debug screen is only drawing one line, let me know.
I believe that my brutal fixit will put paid to it, but am watching out for it now :)

G.
Welcome to the era of "Guns and Maskies" Trading!
The previous message contains discretion. Viewer nudity is advised.
Insanity Industries Indicators Here
Insanity Industries on YouTube!

User avatar
PebbleTrader
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1632
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:15 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby PebbleTrader » Thu Sep 29, 2011 10:57 am

I am using M1 and everything is working just fine.

I'll let you know if there is any issues with M1 or indi.
Life is just a journey

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

Relativity
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 364
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 4:19 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby Relativity » Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:04 am

bredin wrote:Ideally Id read this from tickdata... which MT4 doesnt do, and the executive decision was made not to use tick data in MT5 either.....

but you are right about wanting to see every retrace possible. M5 will lose some bars, but not the overall shape....


btw guys Ive come across a weird bug that only seems to happen on M1 charts:
if youre getting a double bar at the end and the debug screen is only drawing one line, let me know.
I believe that my brutal fixit will put paid to it, but am watching out for it now :)

G.


How to get workable tick data in MT4 (unofficial)

1)
Put the files in the following folders and reload MT4
C:\(mt4 folder)\experts\LFH_Trading_Simulator_3.ex4
C:\(mt4 folder)\experts\indicators\CreateTickData.mq4
C:\(mt4 folder)\experts\indicators\PostTickData.mq4


2)
Load strategy tester and select LFH_Trading_Simulator_3
Use the following settings :
Symbol : (your choice)
Model : Every Tick
Use date : select 1 week worth of data (sometimes I only do last few days)
Period : M1
Visual mode : Yes, with maximum speed
(e.g. see 1.PNG)


3)
Start the EA and pause it. Load up CreateTickData.mq4. Use this to gather historical ticks.

4)
Continue running the EA. You should see a text file generated in C:\(mt4 folder)\experts\files\TickData. Let it run to the end; which should be the latest live M1 bar.

5)
Close the EA and load a live chart. Load up both CreateTickData (to continue gathering ticks, but this time from live chart) and PostTickData.mq4. Default is 15 ticks.

6)
Goto File -> Open Offline -> find your tick chart (e.g. !TickEURUSD,M15) and load it. The historical ticks and the live ticks should be in the combined chart.
Attachments
LFH_Trading_Simulator_3.ex4
(29.63 KiB) Downloaded 29 times
PostTickData.mq4
(10.23 KiB) Downloaded 38 times
CreateTickData.mq4
(1.17 KiB) Downloaded 43 times
1.PNG
1.PNG (8.69 KiB) Viewed 942 times

User avatar
PebbleTrader
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1632
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:15 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby PebbleTrader » Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:16 am

Is that for live only?

How can it generate accurate ticks from historical M1?
Life is just a journey

User avatar
bredin
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1032
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:41 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby bredin » Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:33 am

MT4 'simulates' (ie makes up) ticks from the historical data, it its the ohlc of each M1, plus a few other random points... the spread is always the current spread, which is why its inadvisable to backtest on weekends....

It is, simply put, even less useful than the M1 data.

but thanks for trying to help :)

G.
Last edited by bredin on Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
Welcome to the era of "Guns and Maskies" Trading!
The previous message contains discretion. Viewer nudity is advised.
Insanity Industries Indicators Here
Insanity Industries on YouTube!

User avatar
PebbleTrader
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1632
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:15 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby PebbleTrader » Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:41 am

That's kind of what I was thinking. Thanks for the explanation.

Thanks for the suggestion Relativity :)
Life is just a journey

User avatar
PebbleTrader
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1632
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:15 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby PebbleTrader » Thu Sep 29, 2011 12:20 pm

I am seeing how I like pipware in window 1: (control candle scale by controlling # of candles)

Image
Life is just a journey

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.


Return to “TheRumpledOne”