EAs and autotrading

If you don't know where to start, start here! Don't be afraid to ask questions.

Moderator: moderators

bazmonaut

EAs and autotrading

Postby bazmonaut » Mon Jul 06, 2009 11:39 am

I have been coding/testing EAs and would like to share my thoughts... this is more of a list of 'notes to self' than anything else.

I have been working quite hard on this for the past few weeks, but I am by no means an expert. I have some observations to share based on a lot of testing and a week of very carefully monitored live trading. This forum seems most appropriate as autotrading may be perceived as the route to 'easy money' for the unwary.

My summary is that EAs can be profitable, but you will need 'proper' live trading experience in order to create and manage them. Also, (for me anyway) they are a useful addition to one's trading arsenal, but cannot replace manual trading...

Please comment if you have something to add...

I'll add more in a couple of weeks when I have more...

The catch(es)

1/ an EA will only be profitable under certain market conditions, don't expect it to be profitable all the time (or even the majority of time)
2/ if you can't understand the strategy behind an EA then don't trade it, otherwise you will not know why it's started to drain your account
3/ never, ever, ever simply set an EA running and let it do its thing trading live on real money - it WILL drain your account dry as market conditions become unfavourable
4/ if you don't know the code in the EA, then don't trade it

What they are good for

1/ an educational tool for backtesting indicators and strategies - to see where and why they fail/win
2/ small 'extra' profit in addition to profits from your 'manual' trading
3/ precision trading without emotion OR judgement (other than rules written into the code) - i.e. would my strategy have worked today if I hadn't been undisciplined (yet again)?
4/ collection of hard data to support/reject theories