TS: Is there a simple way to plot one indicator of another?

If you don't know where to start, start here! Don't be afraid to ask questions.

Moderator: moderators

makaha
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:45 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

TS: Is there a simple way to plot one indicator of another?

Postby makaha » Sat Dec 30, 2006 2:00 am

Hi, I'm new to the forum; I found this link, and hope I can find some help:
[This is for TradeStation 8.1 platform]

Most charting programs you can drop one indicator on top of the other.
I have the put-call vol ratio applied to the QQQQ. All I want to do is plot a weighted moving average (10 or 20 period) of this plot. Can this be done simply?

Thanks for anyone's help.

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11396
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Sat Dec 30, 2006 10:06 pm

Yes.

value1 = xaverage( putcall , 20 ) ; // value1 is 20 period average

plot1( value1, "ema of putcall") ;

Where putcall is the value of put-call vol ratio applied to the QQQQ.
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!

Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

makaha
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:45 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby makaha » Sun Dec 31, 2006 1:18 am

Thanks, - I'll try it out; as i'm looking at it - will the plot automatically know that putcall is from the chart being displayed?
I'll post back with the result.

makaha
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:45 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby makaha » Sun Dec 31, 2006 2:13 am

Well, it wasn't as simple as hoped for. Turns out "putcall" is not a recognized word. The closest I could find is "PutOpenInt" and "CallOpenInt" which is the open interest of each. setting up values to plot one divided by the other yielded "divide by zero" errors. So i set a condition to check if the divisor is zero and set an arbitrary number of 4 in it's place. Somehow the indicator is plotting in numbers of millions instead of a simpler fraction i was expecting - so the 4 throws it way off.

I regrouped and just plotted 2 moving averages of the putopen interest;
the indicator works - but doesn't reveal much on the chart - c'est la vie.

But can you tell me - for all the sophistication of the TradeStation platform -- it clearly has the data plots available to it; why don't they have it so you can just drag one indicator on top of the other? I don't get it; what are they doing with their time?

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11396
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Sun Dec 31, 2006 5:02 pm

They are busy monitoring their forum to make sure that no one posts anything about me or www.kreslik.com.
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!



Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

makaha
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:45 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby makaha » Sun Dec 31, 2006 5:36 pm

lol - I was active with TS about 6 mos ago; and saw some of your stuff on the logs - was intrigued by all of your innovations - but wasn't using the radar screener at the time. Now, getting back into trading - had this problem and searching on the net recognized your name - that's how I joined kreslik.
But really - is there any legitimate reason to force everyone to spend needless hours re-inventing the wheel (and many doing so improperly) for the really basic stuff? I mean, lets say you have the CCI plotted - why can't you just lay a moving average on top of it? (without programming it specificaly). I'm just curious how such an obviouis feature can be overlooked; am i missing something?

User avatar
eudamonia
rank: 500+ posts
rank: 500+ posts
Posts: 536
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 9:50 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Rocklin, CA
Real name: Edward Heming
Gender: Male
Contact:

Postby eudamonia » Thu Jan 04, 2007 5:52 pm

As TRO stated, TradeStation are not interested in serving their clients. They are only interested in getting people to sign up with their brokerage.

I am working on escaping their clutching hands myself. Good luck.

Edward
Eudaimonia (pron.: you-die-moan-e-a) (Greek: εὐδαιμονία) is a classical Greek word commonly translated as 'happiness'. The less subjective "human flourishing" is often preferred as a translation.

makaha
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:45 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby makaha » Sun Jan 07, 2007 6:20 am

Ed - Thanks for your input; I know what you mean by being stuck in their clutches. When I placed my account on inactive status - by withdrawing all my funds (you have one year to refund the account before your account disappears) - they wouldn't even let me log on to retrieve my activity information for tax purposes. They said they would mail me a yearly summary - but never did; besides, it's the details that are needed.
I also have been looking for an alternative; possibly Interactive Brokers - then the charting program with e-signal or MetaStock. But there are enough positive aspects to TS that I end up sticking with them; also, after spending time with EL I don't want to learn another language!
lol,
Joel

User avatar
eudamonia
rank: 500+ posts
rank: 500+ posts
Posts: 536
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 9:50 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Rocklin, CA
Real name: Edward Heming
Gender: Male
Contact:

Postby eudamonia » Mon Jan 08, 2007 9:44 pm

makaha,

Well if you only want to escape TS's ridiculous prices then you can try Multi-charts or if you trade only Forex then MCFX. Both of these products are run by a company called TS Support (who have nothing to do with TradeStation) other than that their products are very similar. So similar in fact that you can easily convert ELDs/ELSs and other TradeStation code instantly. The price is pretty reasonable too ($399 to purchase or $39/mo). Just FYI I don't actually have any affiliation with these folks except that I like their products.

However, if you need to address other issues like your CCI plotting issue, then these folks won't be able to help. It's a shame that you and I and many others have spent our time learning EasyLanguage, because the problems inherent in TradeStation are due to the short cuts that EasyLanguage utilizes. Of course these short cuts make EL "easy" but they also make it the language of coding cripples. If you are serious about moving on to a more robust and more customizable application (although it does take much more effort to learn thoroughly) then I would recommend NeoTicker. I myself am still learning NT, but others on the forum can offer you a more thorough perspective of NT (such as Michal).

Edward
Eudaimonia (pron.: you-die-moan-e-a) (Greek: εὐδαιμονία) is a classical Greek word commonly translated as 'happiness'. The less subjective "human flourishing" is often preferred as a translation.

makaha
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 30, 2006 1:45 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby makaha » Thu Jan 11, 2007 10:47 am

Ed,
I see that I am delinquent in checking my e-mail - to find your post. I haven't looked into NeoTicker before - I may have heard the name; but I'll do so. Are they just a charting program, or can they be hooked up with a brokerage account - if so, do you know which ones work well with it?
I'll post back with my impression, in any event.

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.


Return to “beginners forum”