Trading With MT4 VS Other Platform

If you don't know where to start, start here! Don't be afraid to ask questions.

Moderator: moderators

Humble
rank: 500+ posts
rank: 500+ posts
Posts: 576
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2009 10:29 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby Humble » Sun May 05, 2013 6:43 am

MT5: FIFO and no hedging!
Is price closing higher or lower than something? Simple yet powerful question. ..MO

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

Karma
rank: 50+ posts
rank: 50+ posts
Posts: 145
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 11:59 am
Reputation: 0
Location: South Florida
Gender: Male

Postby Karma » Sun May 05, 2013 1:47 pm

Image


Just thought I'd share this for those who haven't used it

This is a trade from a couple weeks ago, sorry I didn't snap a new photo

I used the Market Depth Ladder window thing to place orders

I default limit orders so all I have to do is click one of the red or green boxes and an order is placed at the price I want

The green line in that window is my position, the same as on the chart. I can move order lines in the ladder window or on the chart. I personally prefer to use the ladder window rather than dragging lines around on the chart

I do have to mention that this EATS cpu though, I run it on a dedicated computer

Just my $0.02

User avatar
PebbleTrader
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1632
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:15 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby PebbleTrader » Sun May 05, 2013 3:02 pm

Thanks Karma.

I'll either be sticking with Nav Pro or switching entirely to MT5, still exploring ATM.

FIFO / and Hedging is not allowed in US, they are just being compliant, so that is not affecting my decision.
Life is just a journey

User avatar
PebbleTrader
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1632
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:15 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby PebbleTrader » Sun May 05, 2013 3:03 pm

I'll have to wait till market opens to test, but you might be able to use that same setup in MT5 with the market depth / trading off charts...
Life is just a journey

User avatar
Jalarupa
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1141
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 5:50 pm
Reputation: 2
Location: South Africa
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby Jalarupa » Sun May 05, 2013 6:05 pm

Karma wrote:
Image


Just thought I'd share this for those who haven't used it

This is a trade from a couple weeks ago, sorry I didn't snap a new photo

I used the Market Depth Ladder window thing to place orders

I default limit orders so all I have to do is click one of the red or green boxes and an order is placed at the price I want

The green line in that window is my position, the same as on the chart. I can move order lines in the ladder window or on the chart. I personally prefer to use the ladder window rather than dragging lines around on the chart

I do have to mention that this EATS cpu though, I run it on a dedicated computer

Just my $0.02


Yeah that new market depth ladder view is the bomb... I also use it to place my trades... also shows very nicely the pa around a LIS

must say I'm very happy with using mb trading desktop pro to place trades... it's a bit of a mission to switch between desktops but the accuracy is worth it.
"our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate... our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure... It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us..."

I trade using <<FX SYNERGY>>

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

User avatar
PebbleTrader
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1632
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:15 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby PebbleTrader » Sun May 05, 2013 9:25 pm

Karma, Jala:

Same setup in MT5:
Image
Life is just a journey

User avatar
Jalarupa
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1141
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 5:50 pm
Reputation: 2
Location: South Africa
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby Jalarupa » Mon May 06, 2013 2:03 am

Hmm looks like it comes with detachable windows... B-)

The nice thing about mbtdp is that it allows for one click trading off the ladder... but yeah I'd have to investigate the benefits of mt5 in more detail.

Thx
"our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate... our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure... It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us..."

I trade using <<FX SYNERGY>>

User avatar
PebbleTrader
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1632
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:15 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby PebbleTrader » Mon May 06, 2013 4:34 am

You click on those little arrows at the far right and it is one click trading.

However, it doesn't have all the features that the MB one has though...
Life is just a journey

User avatar
PebbleTrader
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1632
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:15 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby PebbleTrader » Mon May 06, 2013 4:37 am

There is a lot of redundancy between MB and MT5...When I look at the MB Desktop Pro, almost all of that can be done in MT5, hence why I'm looking at simplifying things...
Life is just a journey

User avatar
PebbleTrader
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1632
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:15 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby PebbleTrader » Mon May 06, 2013 6:00 pm

All your creative order types would be through EA's...so you would want them to be on this:

http://www.fxcm.com/products/metatrader-4/free-mt4-vps/VPS Hosting

Just like how your orders now are not on your personal computer...
Life is just a journey

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.


Return to “beginners forum”