Blubbb's free indicator and expert advisor thread

If you don't know where to start, start here! Don't be afraid to ask questions.

Moderator: moderators

User avatar
trueblueTEX
rank: 500+ posts
rank: 500+ posts
Posts: 532
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:38 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby trueblueTEX » Tue Sep 14, 2010 7:10 pm

blubbb wrote:Open the source code, set MaxTries to 5 or 1 if you like and re-compile the script (don't forget the short script as well).


GOTCHA!!!!

What do you think about the possibility of an OpenLongPendingOrderAtHighOfPreviousBar script?

:-)

TEX

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

User avatar
blubbb
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 8:07 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Europe
Gender: Male

Postby blubbb » Tue Sep 14, 2010 7:26 pm

Idea is nice. I'll see what I can do. There are brokers, however, which won't let you put a pending order so close to current price.

User avatar
blubbb
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 8:07 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Europe
Gender: Male

Postby blubbb » Tue Sep 14, 2010 7:45 pm

Try this.

For the long, the script will add the current(!) spread...
Attachments
Blubbb_Script_LongOnPreviousHigh.mq4
(2.83 KiB) Downloaded 86 times
Blubbb_Script_ShortOnPreviousLow.mq4
(2.83 KiB) Downloaded 88 times

User avatar
trueblueTEX
rank: 500+ posts
rank: 500+ posts
Posts: 532
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:38 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby trueblueTEX » Tue Sep 14, 2010 7:48 pm

DAMN! YOU'RE QUICK!!!

User avatar
trueblueTEX
rank: 500+ posts
rank: 500+ posts
Posts: 532
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:38 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby trueblueTEX » Tue Sep 14, 2010 7:51 pm

blubbb wrote:Idea is nice. I'll see what I can do. There are brokers, however, which won't let you put a pending order so close to current price.


I'm demoing with MBT, so we'll see how well that goes. ;-)

Thanks a lot, blubbb!!!

TEX

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

User avatar
trueblueTEX
rank: 500+ posts
rank: 500+ posts
Posts: 532
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:38 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby trueblueTEX » Tue Sep 14, 2010 9:48 pm

blubbb wrote:Try this.

For the long, the script will add the current(!) spread...


That ended up going 2 bars back from the current bar instead of just 1. :oops:

User avatar
blubbb
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 8:07 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Europe
Gender: Male

Postby blubbb » Tue Sep 14, 2010 10:24 pm

What do you mean? The code says High[1] and Low[1] and should do exactly that.

User avatar
trueblueTEX
rank: 500+ posts
rank: 500+ posts
Posts: 532
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:38 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby trueblueTEX » Tue Sep 14, 2010 10:46 pm

trueblueTEX wrote:
blubbb wrote:Try this.

For the long, the script will add the current(!) spread...


That ended up going 2 bars back from the current bar instead of just 1. :oops:

Well, I guess it didn't. It just made the order much further away from the high of the previous candle.

User avatar
trueblueTEX
rank: 500+ posts
rank: 500+ posts
Posts: 532
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:38 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby trueblueTEX » Tue Sep 14, 2010 10:59 pm

I guess this isn't going to work.

I probably better stick to Market Orders.

I was trying to mimic TRO's use of Limit orders but I don't see how he gets his Limit orders in close enough.

mob
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 35
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 4:57 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby mob » Wed Sep 15, 2010 1:32 am

Blubb, thanks a lot for the modification!

1. Need new glasses, never realized that average price is indicated on the left price column - I actually meant, but no longer necessary, to indicated average price above the average price line in main window

2. I have one more question / request after reading Tex's idea.... Semafor are calculated (though i still don't understand how) - is there a possibility to program a script that
- on a predetermined (fixed) tf (e.g. I only use H1 and H4)
- opens long order on semafor 3 when a semafor 3 low is printed
- and a short order when a semafor 3 high is printed....
I know this is risky but I have a devised a methodology around it that does work well for me, it would allow me to minimize screen time.....

Cheers

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.


Return to “beginners forum”