Blubbb's free indicator and expert advisor thread

If you don't know where to start, start here! Don't be afraid to ask questions.

Moderator: moderators

User avatar
trueblueTEX
rank: 500+ posts
rank: 500+ posts
Posts: 532
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:38 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

New script request....

Postby trueblueTEX » Sun Sep 12, 2010 3:28 am

Hey blubb!!

I use a couple of your scripts, Blubbb_Script_Long (I'm a Green Rat :lol: ), Blubbb_Script_Breakeven, and Blubbb_ShowOrders indicator.

What I would love to have is a script that I could "hot-key" so that each time I execute it it would increment the SL by X-number of pips: a "Blubbb_Script_Increment_SL". I assume it would be a fairly easy modification to the Blubbb_Script_Breakeven script but I am clueless as to how to do it.

Do you think you could add such a script to repretoire?

btw: Thank you so much for Blubbb_ShowOrders!! I think that is the single best indicator I've ever used! It certainly makes Green Rat DTB trading a LOT easier.

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

User avatar
Jalarupa
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1140
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 5:50 pm
Reputation: 2
Location: South Africa
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby Jalarupa » Sun Sep 12, 2010 7:16 am

Yeah that would take care of comms and swop... :P
"our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate... our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure... It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us..."

I trade using <<FX SYNERGY>>

User avatar
blubbb
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 8:07 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Europe
Gender: Male

Postby blubbb » Sun Sep 12, 2010 8:34 pm

Untested
Attachments
Blubbb_Script_IncreaseSL.mq4
(1.99 KiB) Downloaded 30 times
Blubbb_Script_DecreaseSL.mq4
(1.99 KiB) Downloaded 31 times
Blubbb_Script_IncreaseTP.mq4
(1.99 KiB) Downloaded 33 times
Blubbb_Script_DecreaseTP.mq4
(1.99 KiB) Downloaded 33 times

User avatar
trueblueTEX
rank: 500+ posts
rank: 500+ posts
Posts: 532
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:38 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby trueblueTEX » Sun Sep 12, 2010 8:35 pm

Dang! That was quick!!

I'll give them a try in a couple of hours ;-)

User avatar
trueblueTEX
rank: 500+ posts
rank: 500+ posts
Posts: 532
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:38 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby trueblueTEX » Sun Sep 12, 2010 9:53 pm

Seem to work pretty good, so far!!!

Thanks, blubbb!!!!

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

User avatar
trueblueTEX
rank: 500+ posts
rank: 500+ posts
Posts: 532
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:38 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby trueblueTEX » Sun Sep 12, 2010 11:36 pm

Just made 6.9 pips using it. Just demo. But I'll get there.

Thanks
TEX

User avatar
blubbb
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 8:07 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Europe
Gender: Male

Postby blubbb » Tue Sep 14, 2010 4:39 pm

Wow, that means you'll donate soon? ;)

@mob
I added the mental stop loss idea (optional) to the ShowOrders indi. Just set "MentalStopLoss".
What did you mean by "add average price to average price line"? The price already gets displayed at the line (look to the right).
Attachments
Blubbb_ShowOrders.mq4
(11.41 KiB) Downloaded 24 times

User avatar
trueblueTEX
rank: 500+ posts
rank: 500+ posts
Posts: 532
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:38 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby trueblueTEX » Tue Sep 14, 2010 5:48 pm

[quote="blubbb"]Wow, that means you'll donate soon? ;)

I probably will in a paycheck or two. :-)

Take a look at these 2 or 3 images of an ACCIDENTAL buy that lost me 12+ pips.

I clicked on the "Long" script and no buy ticket appeared on the chart. So I thought I didn't really click it. Then I decided I already had enough (like 14+ pips for the day) so I got off the charts and started doing work (job-work). A few minutes later, I looked at the chart and

Lo, and behold, I was about to be stopped out of a Trade!! I didn't think I was in a trade!!

The trade stopped out -12+ pips and I looked at what was going on.

The BUY actually took place at least 1 bar away from where I clicked. 5minutes plus, after I clicked. ***Now I did NOT look up in the left hand corner, so I don't know if there were any error messages up there.***

The BUY took place up MANY pips above where I clicked the LONG script.

Slippage was set to 2 pips but the BUY was MUCH greater than 2 pips from when I clicked.


What I found in the Journal was that the trade failed because of "NO CONNECTION". That went on for more than 3 minutes and then when the connection "came back", BOOM the BUY was successfully placed (while I was reading email!!)




Is there any way to program the scripts to quit trying if too much time passes?

Now I DID win MOST of those pips back a few minutes later. (they are all demo pips, anyway.) :lol:


I suppose that if the scripts did Limit Orders instead of Market Orders, that would done the trick.



On another topic: What about a script that, when executed, issued a Limit Order with the price set to the High (green rat) of the PREVIOUS bar???
:-) :-)
Attachments
Accidental BUY.PNG
Accidental BUY.PNG (75.94 KiB) Viewed 447 times
Accidental BUY part2.PNG
Accidental BUY part2.PNG (54.76 KiB) Viewed 447 times
Accidental BUY part3.PNG
Accidental BUY part3.PNG (80.29 KiB) Viewed 447 times

User avatar
trueblueTEX
rank: 500+ posts
rank: 500+ posts
Posts: 532
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:38 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby trueblueTEX » Tue Sep 14, 2010 5:52 pm

You see the opening "BUY" triangle? I actually launched the script in the previous bar just barely above the "key" green bar.

User avatar
blubbb
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 219
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 8:07 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Europe
Gender: Male

Postby blubbb » Tue Sep 14, 2010 7:08 pm

Open the source code, set MaxTries to 5 or 1 if you like and re-compile the script (don't forget the short script as well).

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.


Return to “beginners forum”