a questions of coding etiquette (& copyright?)

If you don't know where to start, start here! Don't be afraid to ask questions.

Moderator: moderators

bazmonaut

a questions of coding etiquette (& copyright?)

Postby bazmonaut » Sat Jul 04, 2009 7:24 am

Hi again

What's the etiquette when modifying someone else's code, in terms of acknowledging the original author etc?

I see that TRO has modified other author's work (and acknolwldeged this in the header), if I mod one of TRO's works would it be polite to include a link to his website in the header?

Also (if I have a reasonable understanding of copyright), provided I acknowledge the original author, and don't try to make money out of it, I can just go ahead and publish modified code? Right?

What if someone was selling code, and I started giving away a modified version for free? I guess this would be impolite at best... I know that TRO asks people not to publish his code on other forums...

I'm new to mql4 coding but I am an experienced amateur (self-taught) VBA coder, the structures of mql4 & VBA are quite similar (maybe this is the case for all programming languages). I think I have some useful contributions to make, but I don't want to start pissing everyone off.

Excuse the repeated references to politeness, it's my English half coming out.

bazmo
becoming stranger in a strange land

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

TheRumpledOne

Postby TheRumpledOne » Sat Jul 04, 2009 5:29 pm

You should always acknowledge the original author. One way is to include the link where you found the code in your post and in the code itself.

If someone posts the source code, the implication is that you can use it, modify it, etc...

If they do NOT want you using it, modifying it, etc... they do NOT post the source code.