TRO BUY ZONE - KEEP IT SIMPLE

post your indicators here

Moderator: moderators

letstrade
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 1:28 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Newbie and the Buy Zone

Postby letstrade » Sun Jan 20, 2008 7:30 pm

First off, Thank you all for such a rich learning ground!

I am trying to get the Buy Zone indicator setup, and have read this entire thread, so I am aware of following the instruction (LOL). My first quandry is what values for time should I use for the custom session FOREX_DST_LONDON. I pray this simple Q will not ruffle anyone.

Just to have a starting point, I used weekdays 08-17:00 (sse attached picture). So I think I have followed the guidelines in this thread, built custom session, imported latest ELD, opened workspace, and I only see the price and Dyn Fibs. OK, It's Sunday, so maybe the 'market must be open' comments suggest why I dont see the lines, but can someone point me to where I may reseacrch appropriate timevalues to put in the custome seesion... Please!

I have taken some basic FX classes, but if my Q implies I am still WAY TOO GREEN, please feel free to direct (nicely).

Please be gentle, this is my first post here!

Thanks again all! (and TRO especially!)
Attachments
Seesion_Hrs.PNG
My Initial Session Hrs
Seesion_Hrs.PNG (26.54 KiB) Viewed 932 times

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

letstrade
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 1:28 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Follow up to my prior post ...

Postby letstrade » Sun Jan 20, 2008 8:54 pm

Well, after 4 hours of reading this thread, and asking my first Q, I found the $Trillion thread, and it looks like Avery already posted his session settings there... Luckily, I too live in AZ, so I will simply mimic his settings.

I guess I should now read the next100 pages of that thread before asking another question!

Thanks anyways!

tradewiz
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:16 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby tradewiz » Mon Jan 21, 2008 5:08 am

HI, TRO

i am just wondering if you've posted any indicator that can alert me
when the price approaching the open price through out the day? thanks.

entropy
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 7:51 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Matthews, NC
Real name: Dave Mattingly
Gender: Male

Postby entropy » Tue Jan 22, 2008 12:46 pm

tradewiz wrote:HI, TRO

i am just wondering if you've posted any indicator that can alert me
when the price approaching the open price through out the day? thanks.


Here is a great indicator I use to notify me when price gets close to a target. Simple and very effective. It is for MT4 as I do not use TS.

Here is a video on how to use it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Ds1BZl78xQ

Best Regards,
Dave
Attachments
Chin Breakout Alert.mq4
(16.52 KiB) Downloaded 52 times
Chin Breakout Alert.ex4
(8.06 KiB) Downloaded 43 times
Best Regards,
Dave

______________________________________________________

The only thing we know about the future is that it will be different.
- Peter Drucker

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11440
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Wed Jan 23, 2008 3:28 pm

I wrote a PRICE ALERT indicator in TS. Just use DAILYOPEN or OPEND(0) as the input price.

I wrot PRICE ALERT 2... allows 2 inputs...

So you could place alerts at open +/- 4 pips.
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!

Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

bh11111
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 12:31 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Buy Zone inputs for the emini s&p

Postby bh11111 » Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:04 am

What would you change the inputs to for the esh08 with the Buy Zone indicator? I used the workspace and indicator you gave and after changing the symbol to the s&p march contract all I got was the white line and no buy or sell zones.
Thanks, Bill

elis58
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 22, 2008 9:25 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

buy zone

Postby elis58 » Mon Sep 08, 2008 9:05 pm

didn't understand. is it also for stocks ? how can we aplly 0.10 ,0.20 to stocks like aapl with day range of dolars ? it immidiatly pass this range

thanks

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11440
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Wed Sep 10, 2008 1:25 am

You have to be quick... that's how!
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!



Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

winny
rank: 50+ posts
rank: 50+ posts
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 10:34 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby winny » Tue Nov 04, 2008 12:00 am

TRO,
Is it possible to use the buy Zone on higher time frames ?
60 min, 240 min, 1 day
And if so, what interval/parameters would you use for trading eur-usd ?

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11440
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Tue Nov 04, 2008 1:52 am

BuyZone can be used on anytime frame because it is PRICE BASED.

EURUSD zones are open +/- 3 and 4 pips.
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!



Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.


Return to “Tradestation indicators”