Signal Bender

free & uncensored discussion arena for TheRumpledOne

Moderator: moderators

SignalBender
rank: 50+ posts
rank: 50+ posts
Posts: 108
Joined: Mon May 10, 2010 9:36 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby SignalBender » Thu May 27, 2010 5:56 am

Sorry, getting the right size was a pain on this one.

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11440
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Fri May 28, 2010 6:07 pm

Image

TRO_SignalBenderAvg2

I hope I understood what you wanted.
Attachments
TRO_SignalBenderAvg2.mq4
(6.22 KiB) Downloaded 192 times
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!

Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11440
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Fri May 28, 2010 6:52 pm

Image

Does price have memory?

MightyOne said to only trade off the extremes....

What do you see?
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!



Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

User avatar
forexbob
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 247
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:52 am
Reputation: 2
Location: Planet Earth
Gender: None specified

Postby forexbob » Fri May 28, 2010 6:56 pm

TRO,
continue like this , and you will earn a whole ZOO from SignalBender. lol
The highest Forex rebates: http://www.cashbackforex.info

User avatar
forexbob
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 247
Joined: Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:52 am
Reputation: 2
Location: Planet Earth
Gender: None specified

Postby forexbob » Fri May 28, 2010 8:38 pm

TheRumpledOne wrote:Does price have memory?

MightyOne said to only trade off the extremes....

What do you see?


http://www.investopedia.com/articles/fo ... p?viewed=1
disputed if price have memory. but it is not totally random. probabilities etc.

for now i see 2many lines, i do not know 'yet' what i see
The highest Forex rebates: http://www.cashbackforex.info

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

User avatar
bredin
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1032
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:41 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby bredin » Sat May 29, 2010 12:44 am

SignalBender wrote:Well gang, some bad news.

Just got word that my idea of converting my system from Excel to MQL is simply not feasible. The reason is that the system in its entirety is massive relative to what MQL was designed to do. And, MQL's architecture is simply not programmatic enough to handle the logical relationships necessary to effectively reproduce the functionality necessary. I could give many examples, but here is just one:

The system uses both historical data and real-time data for its baseline calculations that generate Primary Indicators such as TCDs as one example. There are a couple dozen Primary Indicators alone at the core of the Engine. However, above that layer, resides the MetaIndicator layer and that's where the first problem hangs out. MetaIndicators are exactly what the name implies, Indicators of Indicators. So, MQL would need to have a facility for using the Output from Indicator_1 and using it as Input for Indicator_2, and that is just a small example of the MetaIndicator layering.

It is not uncommon in the system to either add 2 Indicator Output values together to derive a 3rd Indicator. Or, to then take the 3rd Indicator Output, add it with 3 other Indicators Output values to derive a 4th Indicator. Or, to then take the 3rd and 4th Indicator Output, run a mathematical calculation or logical statement against it to produce a 5th Indicator and then use that 5th Indicator Output as Input for a series of higher level Indicator Clusters. Nor, is it uncommon to see 10 Indicators producing the 11th, or 20 Indicators producing the 21st and so on.

From my understanding, MT4 starts to slow down when you significantly increase the number of Indicators running simultaneously and it is supposed to have an upper Indicator limit, beyond which you cannot load additional Indicators. In other words, MQL just can't handle the job of processing complex trading systems, fluently.

I've posted a power-point previously about how to integrate Excel into MT4 with no reply, so I won't post an idea I had on a possible multiple EA solution to the complexity problem in MT4, but I will say that the only concept for a solution that I can envision would be to run multiple EAs simultaneously across multiple machines and then pass output from each EA into a final EA designed solely for generating the Order (in essence the Trade Signal EA) on another machine.

So, basically, run an MT4 machine to just under its Indicator limit and classify that machine as EA_Indicator_1. Run the next MT4 machine to just under its Indicator limit and classify that machine as EA_Indicator_2, and so on, until all EA Output is passed to machine name EA_Order, where the trade is actually executed.

Otherwise, it is "Hello World" with a full-blown 32bit OOP Application, bypassing MQL altogether and going straight against the MT4 Server with the API, while building a real-time database with the lower-time interval data for the Excel Engine.

The problem with complex prototype systems, is that they are indeed complex and typically not built on a platform conducive to expansion or portability. Here is a more detailed explanation of the problem.

Let's say I wan to plot a straight linear line on an MT4 chart using this as the first data point, regressing back through the history of bars available:

Harmean(High[i]:High[i+1])+(15%*(High[i]-Low[i])/2)

Now, everyone I talk to says that MQL can easily handle this kind of work. But, this is just a line plot.

Here's the extrapolation that I came up with, including the data points that make up the linear plot:

Harmean(High[i]:High[i+1])
Harmean(High[i+1]:High[i+2])
Harmean(High[i+2]:High[i+3])
Harmean(High[i+3]:High[i+4])
Harmean(High[i+4]:High[i+5])
etc.
etc.
etc.

+

15%*(High[i]-Low[i])/2
15%*(High[i+1]-Low[i+1])/2
15%*(High[i+2]-Low[i+2])/2
15%*(High[i+3]-Low[i+3])/2
15%*(High[i+4]-Low[i+4])/2
etc.
etc.
etc.

Ok, you get the point. Easily done in MQL. But, again, it is just a line. A necessary line, but a just line nonetheless. Now, what happens when I need to place a dynamic price on the chart and then use that numeric value as either a Limit or Stop level. Here's what the output cell's dynamic price level code looks like inside the Excel Engine:

=IF(AE10>=O834,SUM(I828,AE10)/2,SUM(I828,G828)/2)

This is the ultimate problem with using MQL. Each one of the cells in the formula that make up this one dynamic price level, is itself a composite of other cells containing more calculations and to other data.

Note this dynamic price level uses 4 inputs (cells: AE10, O834, I828 and G828). Here are their individual break-outs:

AE10 = High[i+1]
O834 = SUM(K830:K834)/5-0.0005
I828 = G828+0.0025
G828 = E828+0.0025

Further extrapolation:

O834 uses input from the range K830 through K834. I828 and G828 both take input from one additional Indicator respectively with E828 being their dependency. Note that AE10 is the first in the sequence to actually use historical data from the market, the High of One Bar Ago.

Continuing the break-outs:

K830 = IF(CX75>=AR67,AR67,SUM(CX75,DH68)/2)

K831 = IF(D756="Short",SUM(F684,(((((DK76-0.0003)+(AE10+(FF30/10000)))/2)+(AF10+(AJ35*2.75)))/2))/2,(((((DK76-0.0003)+(AE10+(FF30/10000)))/2)+(AF10+(AJ35*2)))/2))

K832 = a value held in memory [I use macros to simulate the storing of values in memory]

K833 = E828+0.0025

K834 = G828+0.0025

I won't break down the details of K830 and K831 for time sake. [No circular references - my system has been debugged!]

And, this is just one lousy price level. We are not even talking about Indicator calculations yet! My goodness, to calculate this single dynamic price level in MQL would take how many lines of code?

There are 18 such dynamic limit level calculations in the system and 18 more entry level calculations, for a total of 36 dynamic variables that are all price level related (only). Here is just 1 of the 18 entry level calculations (they all contain different math and logic):

=IF(D550>0,D550,IF(AND(O539="Short",AR478="Long",AF499="Long",L574="Long",H529<>"Lead Short Off",AI736<>"Short Off",AI737<>"Short Off",AI738<>"Short Off",(AD9-J1151)>=0.002,R630="Short"),J1151,IF(AND(O539="Long",AR478="Short",AF499="Short",L574="Short",H529<>"Lead Long Off",AI736<>"Long Off",AI737<>"Long Off",AI738<>"Long Off",(J1151-AD9)>0.002,R630="Long"),J1151,IF(AND(Q782="Short",O539="Long",AG524="Long"),((AD9+0.0002)+(BP32-0.0015)),IF(AND(Q782="Long",O539="Short",AG524="Short"),((AD9-0.0002)-(BT32-0.0015)),IF(AND(L574="Short",O539="Long",V134="Long",AG524="Long",H529<>"Lead Long Off",AI736<>"Long Off",AI737<>"Long Off",AI738<>"Long Off"),(((AD9+0.0002)+(BP32*35%))+((AD9+0.0002)+((SUM(V135,O582)/2)*(U125*35%))))/2,IF(AND(L574="Long",O539="Short",V134="Short",AG524="Short",H529<>"Lead Short Off",AI736<>"Short Off",AI737<>"Short Off",AI738<>"Short Off"),(((AD9-0.0002)-(BT32*35%))+((AD9-0.0002)-((SUM(V135,O582)/2)*(W125*35%))))/2,0)))))))

I would be sitting here fore for two days straight just typing the break-outs of this cell. So, I won't bore you here. The Indicator logic gets far steeper than these dynamic price level formulas. In fact, I routinely hit the formula length limit in Excel where I end up spreading the entire formula across multiple cell regions, for a single Indicator.


MQL is a modified and stripped down C(something or other) language, which can utilize .dll programs and librarys for expanded actions.

For what you are proposing, have you considered using c++ (or something similar) for the main programmatic action and interfacing with MQL for the trading functions?
Raw information (tick data) can be passed to dlls, processed in a much faster, more dynamic, coding environment and passing back trade signals.

Just a thought.

G.
Welcome to the era of "Guns and Maskies" Trading!
The previous message contains discretion. Viewer nudity is advised.
Insanity Industries Indicators Here
Insanity Industries on YouTube!

User avatar
trueblueTEX
rank: 500+ posts
rank: 500+ posts
Posts: 532
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:38 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby trueblueTEX » Sun May 30, 2010 12:24 am

TheRumpledOne wrote:Image

Does price have memory?

MightyOne said to only trade off the extremes....

What do you see?

I'm sorry TRO, unfortunately I am still the dog who sees only your finger.

Tex

User avatar
Jalarupa
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1141
Joined: Tue Feb 23, 2010 5:50 pm
Reputation: 2
Location: South Africa
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby Jalarupa » Sun May 30, 2010 12:58 pm

Image

Well from what I can SEE with the squiggly's is that if there is a red blue cross over it may signal a BUY or SELL signal... BUT I would only bite if we have at least touched or breached the 50 or 100 point at a previous SPIKE... Meaning (and please correct me if I missed something) if there is sufficient momentum driving big enough moves to the extreams then we have a high probability of a possible reversal entry if there is a crossover btw the red and blue guys... I'm still pondering about the aqua and magenta lines... They are confusing me... What do they confirm or deny?

User avatar
MightyOne
rank: 5000+ posts
rank: 5000+ posts
Posts: 5251
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 6:33 pm
Reputation: 47
Gender: Male

Postby MightyOne » Sun May 30, 2010 3:59 pm

Jalarupa wrote:Image

Well from what I can SEE with the squiggly's is that if there is a red blue cross over it may signal a BUY or SELL signal... BUT I would only bite if we have at least touched or breached the 50 or 100 point at a previous SPIKE... Meaning (and please correct me if I missed something) if there is sufficient momentum driving big enough moves to the extreams then we have a high probability of a possible reversal entry if there is a crossover btw the red and blue guys... I'm still pondering about the aqua and magenta lines... They are confusing me... What do they confirm or deny?


Maybe he will dilute it into something digestible like a semaphore?

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11440
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Mon May 31, 2010 1:07 am

Jalarupa: It looks like if you wait for a spike, then you know a reversal is on the horizon.

MightyOne.. good idea.. add the semafor indicator to the chart....Hmmm.....
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!



Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.


Return to “TheRumpledOne”