P&F charts suck, don't use them...

free & uncensored discussion arena for TheRumpledOne

Moderator: moderators

User avatar
PebbleTrader
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1632
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:15 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby PebbleTrader » Thu Sep 22, 2011 6:20 pm

"I assume that you are plotting from a fixed location back in the history?"

To limit lag?

I like how you have it in the main window and not running in a smaller separate window at the bottom of the main chart.

Yes, thanks for taking the time and effort to code it.
Life is just a journey

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

User avatar
PebbleTrader
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1632
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:15 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby PebbleTrader » Thu Sep 22, 2011 6:25 pm

Bredin,

I think you probably had been following along but I thought I'd list some of the issues with the 2 other MT4 indis we tested:

-They would not match a manually created P&F chart (boxes at levels they shouldn't be at, etc.)

-They would cause MT4 to run really slow.

-They would morph, the shape would actually change as time went by.

-They would plot random large spikes that did not match the PA on time based charts.
Life is just a journey

User avatar
MightyOne
rank: 5000+ posts
rank: 5000+ posts
Posts: 5251
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 6:33 pm
Reputation: 46
Gender: Male

Postby MightyOne » Thu Sep 22, 2011 6:33 pm

PebbleTrader, what is the time zone of your charts?

User avatar
PebbleTrader
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1632
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:15 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby PebbleTrader » Thu Sep 22, 2011 6:38 pm

"PebbleTrader, what is the time zone of your charts?"

Image

Eastern...
Life is just a journey

User avatar
MightyOne
rank: 5000+ posts
rank: 5000+ posts
Posts: 5251
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 6:33 pm
Reputation: 46
Gender: Male

Postby MightyOne » Thu Sep 22, 2011 6:53 pm

LazyGeorge has been plotting the EURUSD 10 x 2 etc & it is significantly diff.:


http://i56.tinypic.com/2h6ulqa.jpg

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

lazygeorge
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 7:01 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby lazygeorge » Thu Sep 22, 2011 7:18 pm

MightyOne wrote:LazyGeorge has been plotting the EURUSD 10 x 2 etc & it is significantly diff.:


http://i56.tinypic.com/2h6ulqa.jpg



I plotted mine using ibfx demo.
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (32.26 KiB) Viewed 483 times

User avatar
PebbleTrader
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1632
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:15 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby PebbleTrader » Thu Sep 22, 2011 7:20 pm

"LazyGeorge has been plotting the EURUSD 10 x 2 etc & it is significantly diff.: "

I just compared LazyGeorge to Pebble to Jalarupa as we have all been plotting the EU.

There is differences in areas.

I am using MB Nav Pro for mine. I suspect different brokers are going to have different data.

From the start of the week, I have checked mine at least twice over, just in doing the different testing of ideas, so I would have corrected any mistakes.
Life is just a journey

User avatar
PebbleTrader
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1632
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:15 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby PebbleTrader » Thu Sep 22, 2011 7:21 pm

Yeah, so we all have different brokers then...
Life is just a journey

User avatar
PebbleTrader
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1632
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2010 2:15 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby PebbleTrader » Thu Sep 22, 2011 7:23 pm

But the MT4 indi should match your manual ones since it is the same feed.

In theory at least, maybe someone else can verify this.

When I talked to my broker before they told me MT4 was the same feed, but with MB Trading support staff it wouldn't surprise me if they didn't actually know :)
Life is just a journey

lazygeorge
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 157
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 7:01 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby lazygeorge » Thu Sep 22, 2011 7:27 pm

PebbleTrader wrote:Yeah, so we all have different brokers then...



Hi PT,

Yep,unless we use a particular broker feed they will always vary slightly :(

Any suggestions?

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.


Return to “TheRumpledOne”