BLACK BELT TRADING TECHNIQUE

free & uncensored discussion arena for TheRumpledOne

Moderator: moderators

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11440
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Mon May 14, 2007 6:08 pm

Linear Regression is set to 60 periods LR(60).

I was taught to wait for RSI(2) < 1 and RSI(2) > 99 BEFORE I enter the trade.

Yes, I wait for those RARE OCCASIONS to reap large profits.
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!

Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

cvax
rank: 50+ posts
rank: 50+ posts
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 12:45 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby cvax » Mon May 21, 2007 2:33 am

I've been trying to nail out this strategy in NinjaTrader for awhile now, but I need some advise on how to calculate stops. Currently I just have my script programmed to exit positions if they drop 5%. This is a very rudimentary technique and just isn't going to cut it.

How do you determine your stops for this one TRO? I can eyeball potential resistances/supports, but I have no idea how to code them :(

God I wish I had TS so I could view all the code in those ELDs.

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11440
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Mon May 21, 2007 2:38 am

Each trader must determine how much "pain" they can withstand and set their stops accordingly.
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!



Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

cvax
rank: 50+ posts
rank: 50+ posts
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 12:45 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby cvax » Mon May 21, 2007 2:46 am

Do you have any advise from a programming stand point as to how I can get the program to know that these lows down here will be support and this high up here will be resistance?

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11440
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Mon May 21, 2007 3:14 am

I posted the code for my Dynamic Support/Resistance indicator. You can start there.

But if you are trying to automate the code, forget all that stuff. Work on price alone. Either you take profit or stop loss. Make your decision and code it.

It is so tempting to code what looks like will be a "money machine" only to find out the market takes your money. Then the more you "fix" it the worse it gets.

That's why my approaches analyze the instrument and generate statistics on price movement rather than working with technical indicators for triggers.
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!



Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

cvax
rank: 50+ posts
rank: 50+ posts
Posts: 83
Joined: Sun May 13, 2007 12:45 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby cvax » Mon May 21, 2007 5:06 am

May I inquiry about how you generate these statistics? Is it just post-trade Excel work or is there some form of automation I can use along with backtesting?

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11440
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Mon May 21, 2007 5:20 am

I use the STATISTICS indicators I wrote for TradeStation radar screen. See the TRO TRAVEL thread.
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!



Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

C-Trader
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 8:34 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Lafayette, CA
Gender: Male

Postby C-Trader » Wed Aug 15, 2007 5:45 pm

TRO--
First of all--thank you for all your hard work and great posts both here and at TradeStation. Im very new to tradestation and easy language and I had one question for you on this strategy--Any chance you have the .ELD for the indicators mentioned for this black belt technique? Trade Station has RSI but it doesnt seem that its RSI(2) and for Linear Regression I dont see a channel option there is an RSI Line but you mention an upper and lower linear regression as part of the strategy (I guess I could put in 2 linear regression lines with different length to get the channel?? But what are the inputs for the second line) Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance

dgbones
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 49
Joined: Mon Jun 12, 2006 7:32 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby dgbones » Tue Aug 21, 2007 5:44 pm

Avery,

All this time and we never talked JKD. Worth the time to read that extra long post! Are you a practitioner of JKD concepts?

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11440
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Tue Aug 21, 2007 8:51 pm

C-Trader wrote:TRO--
First of all--thank you for all your hard work and great posts both here and at TradeStation. Im very new to tradestation and easy language and I had one question for you on this strategy--Any chance you have the .ELD for the indicators mentioned for this black belt technique? Trade Station has RSI but it doesnt seem that its RSI(2) and for Linear Regression I dont see a channel option there is an RSI Line but you mention an upper and lower linear regression as part of the strategy (I guess I could put in 2 linear regression lines with different length to get the channel?? But what are the inputs for the second line) Any help would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance


For RSI(2), change the input!!

For the LR Channel, go to the TS forum, eKam posted one there that works. In one of the Motherlodes (I don't know which one) there's an LR Channel indicator.
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!



Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.


Return to “TheRumpledOne”