2009.01.07 EDUCATION TIME

free & uncensored discussion arena for TheRumpledOne

Moderator: moderators

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11430
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

2009.01.07 EDUCATION TIME

Postby TheRumpledOne » Wed Jan 07, 2009 4:41 pm

2009.01.07 EDUCATION TIME

Image

Since we are trading based on SESSION OPEN TIMES, you need to understand what TIME we are talking about.

There are 3 different times:

BAR TIME - time of the current bar

SERVER TIME - time of the server

LOCAL TIME - your local time.

THEY USUALLY ARE NOT THE SAME!!

For MT4, if you want to know when the London session opens, you need to figure out that time based on SERVER TIME - NOT YOUR LOCAL TIME!!

I am on MST.

London opens at 1:00 AM local time. But it is 9:00 SERVER TIME.

NY opens at 6:00 AM local time. But it is 14:00 SERVER TIME.

I have attached the $_TRO_TIME indicator that displays the times in the upper left hand corner.

I also attached a modified version of b-clock, that counts down the time left in the current bar.

Here's a link to show you when the various markets are open:

MARKET OPENS
Attachments
TRO_TIME.zip
(6.77 KiB) Downloaded 1193 times
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!

Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

User avatar
prochargedmopar
rank: 5000+ posts
rank: 5000+ posts
Posts: 5545
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 6:07 am
Reputation: 8
Location: Granbury, TX
Gender: Male
Contact:

At a Glance

Postby prochargedmopar » Sun Jan 11, 2009 3:37 am

This is another cool market hrs web page that shows you the markets that are currently open "at a glance"

http://forex.timezoneconverter.com/inde ... &refresh=5

Be sure to set your timezone in the drop down box.
Procharged
#1BODY in direction of profit #2INCREASE lot size Obsessively
My Losses cause me Great Laughter!
Trading Bible here> therumpledone/the-ideas-that-i-trade-by-t3256/page1670

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11430
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Sun Jan 11, 2009 4:40 am

Thanks for sharing, Pro.
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!



Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

User avatar
prochargedmopar
rank: 5000+ posts
rank: 5000+ posts
Posts: 5545
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 6:07 am
Reputation: 8
Location: Granbury, TX
Gender: Male
Contact:

Postby prochargedmopar » Tue Jan 13, 2009 10:57 pm

TRO,
Will you please help me get this time thing straight in my head for DIBS ect.

I'm central time.
Example:
Local 17:05p(5:05pm)
Serv. 01:05
Bar. 01:00

What would my settings be in Dibs?
What is the mst for?

Should I just shift all settings 1 hr from what your settings are default?
Not sure why I'm having such difficulty with this.
Also, once I get the settings right for one I can change all other indicators to the same. correct?
Thanks.
Pro
#1BODY in direction of profit #2INCREASE lot size Obsessively
My Losses cause me Great Laughter!
Trading Bible here> therumpledone/the-ideas-that-i-trade-by-t3256/page1670

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11430
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Wed Jan 14, 2009 12:16 am

Where you are DOES NOT MATTER!!

You must figure out what time on your server corresponds to the opening time that you want.

My server time 14:00 corresponds to the New York open.


Yes, once you figure it out, change the setting in the other indicators that are based on session open time.
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!



Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

willkohsg
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 2:23 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

take profit for dibs method

Postby willkohsg » Thu Jan 15, 2009 8:11 am

hi TRO,
may i ask what's the Take profit for Dibs method?

Regards,
William Koh

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11430
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Thu Jan 15, 2009 11:27 am

You take what you can, when you can.
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!



Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

chuchu
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 1:07 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Canada
Gender: None specified

Time in TRO_Bias_EZ

Postby chuchu » Thu Jan 15, 2009 8:18 pm

Hi Tro,

For the TRO_Bias_EZ indicator (the one which shows the direction of for one hour and one day using arrows), what is the starting point (time) to calculate the direction of the arrow for the one day arrow? I don't see it as an option to be set.

regards,

Richard

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11430
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Thu Jan 15, 2009 8:54 pm

The input myOpenHHMM = "14:00" is what you need to set.

For me, 14:00 server time corresponds to the New York open.
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!



Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

chuchu
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 1:07 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Canada
Gender: None specified

TRO_BIAS_EZ

Postby chuchu » Fri Jan 16, 2009 1:43 am

Thanks, but unless I am totally off base, I just don't see any input for this.

I hope we are talking about the same indicator. Attached is a picture of the one I am talking about, which is named TRO_BIAS_EZ from the 2008 donational pack (don't see this in the 2009 pack). The one I am looking at has no input to set the start of the day, nor is there any obvious change to be made in the code.

Attachments
Pic of TRO_BIAS_EZ.jpg
Pic of TRO_BIAS_EZ.jpg (11.09 KiB) Viewed 6413 times

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.


Return to “TheRumpledOne”