Extreme calculations call for extreme computing power

never design a trading system without proper prior analysis. post your market statistics here

Moderator: moderators

androfx
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 3:27 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Europe, Czech Republic... sometimes
Gender: None specified

Postby androfx » Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:34 pm

michal.kreslik wrote:
pr wrote:>It's a joy to build a computer like this, isn't it.

Absolutely! :)


I'm now going to set up a new high-performance computing cluster with many parallel cores for performing the calculations. I'll share my experiences with the setup once everything is up and running :)

Michal


I was using cluster of 3x Xeon 3Ghz double core and one Pentium4 3Ghz double core servers. Speed was fine but due to an organization needs this system was not available to me all the time (it was kind of not allowed activity too....).

So recently I have build simple home machine for calculations. Specs are approximately the same as Michal's - Intel Q6600 - no over clocking for the best stability, Intel mainboard mATX, 8GB memory, integrated graphics, Freezer 7. Quite high specs for such a bargain.

It seems like I am about 9 months behind Michal in technology and about 2 to 3 years in software :-(

Anyway - Michal please post some pictures. It's always very encouraging.

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

User avatar
michal.kreslik
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1032
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 2:40 am
Reputation: 0
Location: Monte Carlo, Monaco
Real name: Michal Kreslik
Gender: Male
Contact:

Postby michal.kreslik » Wed Jun 11, 2008 10:09 pm

androfx wrote:8GB memory


How are you able to address 8GB of memory? Are you running Linux?

Michal

androfx
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2006 3:27 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Europe, Czech Republic... sometimes
Gender: None specified

Postby androfx » Wed Jun 11, 2008 10:50 pm

michal.kreslik wrote:
androfx wrote:8GB memory


How are you able to address 8GB of memory? Are you running Linux?

Michal


Yes.

I have seen a peek in memory usage somewhere around 6GB - all 4 cores in use by 4 instances of the program; partitioned testing data). Under linux the rest of memory is used as a disk cache witch helps a bit too.

I thought that WinXP 64 and Vista 64 is able to address more than 4GB.

User avatar
flinux
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 219
Joined: Wed May 27, 2009 9:52 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male
Contact:

Postby flinux » Sun Jul 12, 2009 9:39 pm

Hi Michal,
if you can write the whole model in C, C++ or FORTRAN and you can use MPI and not use a DBMS (just csv or some .dat file). I can run the model on a HPC Cluster:

13 nodes (Linux x86/64):
2xIntel Xeon 5430 2.66GHz 12MB 1333 FSB Quad Core
4 GB DDR2 ECC

Let me know.

User avatar
michal.kreslik
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1032
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 2:40 am
Reputation: 0
Location: Monte Carlo, Monaco
Real name: Michal Kreslik
Gender: Male
Contact:

Postby michal.kreslik » Wed Jul 15, 2009 12:31 pm

Buon giorno, Flinux,

i've developed a parallel modular optimizer with a group of people from the university, so this issue is fixed already :) It can use as many calculation servers on a parallel basis as I like and the distribution server just assigns the work based on the availability of these servers.

Thanks anyway and have a great day!

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

khalid
rank: 50+ posts
rank: 50+ posts
Posts: 110
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:15 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Lahore
Gender: Male

Postby khalid » Wed Aug 05, 2009 1:01 pm

The 64-bit Windows 7 versions 'support' 8GB+ RAM quite nicely.

Khalid

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.


Return to “statistics”