10 PIPS AT A TIME

trading strategies and money management discussion, code, results

Moderator: moderators

kugan09

10 PIPS AT A TIME

Postby kugan09 » Wed Jan 20, 2010 10:23 pm

Below is a fairly crude diagram of an idea I've been playing with today after looking across some of TRO's ideas, and I was wondering if anyone would know how easy/difficult it would be to code an expert advisor to backtest this?

Rather than using any specific time frame the buy sell orders are placed whenever the price has moved 10 pips, if a stop loss (set to 10) is hit, an order is placed in the direction of the move again. If the take profit (also 10) is hit, another order is placed in the same direction.

I am fairly new to forex trading, so: if the idea is REALLY stupid, I'd really appreciate an explanation as to why.

From a rough look:

ON EUR/USD

20/01/10 0800GMT- 0836GMT 120 pips
19/01/10 2000GMT - 20/01/10 0800GMT 60 pips
19/01/10 0800GMT - 19/01/10 2000GMT 210 pips

However, 18/01/10 0800GMT - 19/01/10 0800GMT lost 110 pips.

Any comments would be greatly appreciated
Attachments
1.JPG
1.JPG (39.08 KiB) Viewed 5248 times
2.JPG
Red/Blue rectangles applied manually (red - loss, blue - profit)
2.JPG (61.44 KiB) Viewed 5248 times

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

TheRumpledOne

Postby TheRumpledOne » Thu Jan 21, 2010 12:58 am

Didn't you post this on another thread here?
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!

Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

Fredcaires

Postby Fredcaires » Thu Jan 21, 2010 4:25 am