Jhx's Journey

If you don't know where to start, start here! Don't be afraid to ask questions.

Moderator: moderators

Jhx

Jhx's Journey

Postby Jhx » Mon Jun 25, 2018 12:42 am

I decided to make my own thread, to avoid "contaminating" other threads with my own mistakes :lol: and to keep track of my (hopefully) progress. I'll be posting my charts every day, pointing out where I took my trades.

I'm an absolute beginner, so if anyone notices I'm doing something wrong, any criticism is appreciated!

Now, with that out of the way...

I've believe the only way to get better at trading, is trading. So that's what I'll be doing (and I expect to fail a lot at first). Quoting TRO here:

"Pick a method, master it. That's all you need."
"Pick one pair and stick to it. Eliminate all the variables."
"Trade at the same time, every day, for the same length of time."

So that's what I'll be doing. I'll be trading the Buy Zone on the USDCAD, the first 3 hours of the NY open.

---

I tried trading the Buy Zone "blindly" the last week, with an arbitrary 20 pip zone, taking a trade on every entry without looking at anything else. Got stopped several times, asked around, watched TRO's "why you don't get better at trading series", watched a TRO forum and video response, and what I was missing was: "The thing is, you have to look at price action". (I might have to print this and pin it on a wall :lol: )

"Price either:
- Stays within the range of the previous candle
- Breaks out of the high and/or low of the previous candle

That's price action. That's the only thing price can do.

You can't break it down any simpler, and anything else complicates it."

"Study the WICK ZONE. Wick Zones of H1 candles give you a clue which way price is moving when it enters/exits the H1 wick zone!"

"You can overlay a wickzone and trade the price action, and use the wickzone for either profit taking or scratching a trade without going to the full stop."