Most of my indicators get grayed out in MT4

Moderator: moderators

jz166
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 5:29 am
Reputation: 0
Location: USA
Gender: Male

Most of my indicators get grayed out in MT4

Postby jz166 » Sun Mar 14, 2010 9:49 pm

some indis still work. what's going on?! :evil:
MT4 is on win7 ultimate, and I am the administrator.
thanks a lot for any help.

Image

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

User avatar
bredin
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1032
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:41 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby bredin » Sun Mar 14, 2010 10:03 pm

you probably have too many indicators in the indi folder, MT4 only recognises a set number of them (64?)

move the ones youre not using to a backup folder

G.
Welcome to the era of "Guns and Maskies" Trading!
The previous message contains discretion. Viewer nudity is advised.
Insanity Industries Indicators Here
Insanity Industries on YouTube!

jz166
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 5:29 am
Reputation: 0
Location: USA
Gender: Male

Postby jz166 » Sun Mar 14, 2010 10:25 pm

Thanks, G.

Probably you are right, I might hit the limit of max indi allowed. But it's weird, I haven't touched indi folder for a while, and all indics used to work.

User avatar
Patch
rank: 500+ posts
rank: 500+ posts
Posts: 941
Joined: Sat Jan 06, 2007 6:13 pm
Reputation: 0
Location: Virginia
Real name: Jeff
Gender: Male
Contact:

Postby Patch » Sun Mar 14, 2010 10:58 pm

jz166

I seem to remember TRO saying in several posts that the max indis in the expert\indicator folder is 500. I am constantly watching my total files and wonder and assume that the 500 count included total files, whether MT4s or Ex4 files. I was just thinking this morning that I would create a sub directory and put all the uncompiled files in it under the indicator directory for this very reason.

How many files do you currently have in your experts\indicator file ?

Hope this helps.

Patch
InVA
ENOUGH being a Yalie for me Back to the Sea. "What i can lose, i can win" "YES YOU CAN" - dragon33 -"Pick one method and one pair and stick with them until you master it. "The choice is yours - success or failure." TRO

PINKPANTHER5
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 216
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2009 7:52 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male
Contact:

Postby PINKPANTHER5 » Sun Mar 14, 2010 11:17 pm

JZ....


Try accessing your indicators from the folder. In MT4 scroll up to VIEW > NAVIGATOR and then click "CUSTOM INDICATORS". There should be a list of all of them. Just load them from there.

Hope this helps

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

User avatar
tmanbone
rank: 500+ posts
rank: 500+ posts
Posts: 723
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 3:52 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby tmanbone » Sun Mar 14, 2010 11:18 pm

Patch, Bredin you guys are on it. Looks like indi overload.
"The simplicity of the markets is it's greatest disguise"

T

jz166
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 172
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 5:29 am
Reputation: 0
Location: USA
Gender: Male

Postby jz166 » Mon Mar 15, 2010 3:09 am

Thanks a lot, guys!
PinkPanthers, your way works fine! I really don't know how many indis in my folder, maybe too many. :smt003

User avatar
TheRumpledOne
rank: 10000+ posts
rank: 10000+ posts
Posts: 11397
Joined: Sun May 14, 2006 9:31 pm
Reputation: 45
Location: Oregon
Real name: Avery T. Horton, Jr.
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby TheRumpledOne » Mon Mar 15, 2010 10:17 pm

Yes, too many.
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU TRADE, IT'S HOW YOU TRADE IT!

Please do NOT PM me with trading or coding questions, post them in a thread.

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.


Return to “MetaTrader”