Strategy tester problem

If you don't know where to start, start here! Don't be afraid to ask questions.

Moderator: moderators

Brookmyre
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 11:13 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Strategy tester problem

Postby Brookmyre » Mon Mar 08, 2010 4:26 am

Hey TRO and any other programmers out there......Im having an issue with the strategy tester and wanted to know if theres a fix or if Im just doing something wrong.

I've been practicing DTB using strategy tester and when I load a template in it wont load any kind of candle overlay. I can load it in after opening a template but the saved template wont run the candle indi. I've tried Blubbs, CC6 and a tro mod candle from the motherloads and they all don't seem to work properly from a saved template.

Is this something Im doing wrong or just an issue with the software?
I've learned from my mistakes and I'm sure I can repeat them exactly - Peter Cook

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

User avatar
bredin
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1032
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:41 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby bredin » Mon Mar 08, 2010 9:43 am

brook,
there are a LOT of limitations to the strategy tester. The one you specifically mention is that no HIGHER timeframe can be accessed by the tester (and thus any indis and eas that access higher tf for analysis simply dont work), it only loads LOWER tf's.

G.
Welcome to the era of "Guns and Maskies" Trading!
The previous message contains discretion. Viewer nudity is advised.
Insanity Industries Indicators Here
Insanity Industries on YouTube!

Brookmyre
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Sep 16, 2009 11:13 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: Male

Postby Brookmyre » Tue Mar 09, 2010 1:01 pm

thx Bredin,

good to know that Im not entirely to blame :0

thx
I've learned from my mistakes and I'm sure I can repeat them exactly - Peter Cook

User avatar
bredin
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1032
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:41 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby bredin » Tue Mar 09, 2010 11:09 pm

I have come to the conculsion that a backtest should be done with an indicator that keeps track of the same data as the tester, which is more dicking about but is much mroe useful since you can access much more data and make better analysis.

Its beyond my meagre ability to code :)

Good luck.

G.
Welcome to the era of "Guns and Maskies" Trading!
The previous message contains discretion. Viewer nudity is advised.
Insanity Industries Indicators Here
Insanity Industries on YouTube!

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.


Return to “beginners forum”