Password

If you don't know where to start, start here! Don't be afraid to ask questions.

Moderator: moderators

Little Wolf
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:42 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Password

Postby Little Wolf » Sat Sep 01, 2007 11:04 pm

Hello all,


Ten years back I bought TradeStation 4.0 and OptionStation. I never used either. Now I would like to use them. I have a green securityblock, but in reading the manual discovered that I'm supposed to get a password from Omega Research via phone line to operate the system. I'm not sure if Omega still exists or was bought out, but the given phone number simply connects me to the main TradeStation phone. I haven't asked TS tech support for anything on this matter to date. I was wondering if anyone out there knows if I can operate my software and do I need this password?


Thanks


Little Wolf

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

User avatar
michal.kreslik
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1032
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 2:40 am
Reputation: 0
Location: Monte Carlo, Monaco
Real name: Michal Kreslik
Gender: Male
Contact:

Postby michal.kreslik » Sun Sep 02, 2007 7:58 pm

Wolfie,

Omega Research was merged into todays' Tradestation Technologies in 2000:

http://sec.edgar-online.com/2001/01/05/ ... ction2.asp

You should be able to get support-related help from today's Tradestation Technologies then.

Michal

Little Wolf
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:42 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Password

Postby Little Wolf » Mon Sep 03, 2007 6:59 am

Mr. Kreslik,


Thankyou so much for the reply. I really appreciate that, especially since I'm new to the forum and feeling a bit lost and overwhelmed.

I'm interested in trading options and wondered if the new platform you just switched to does as much as TS in that arena.

Incidentally, I'll take your advise and contact TradeStation with my issues first, before doing anythig else.

Thanks again,


Little Wolf

User avatar
michal.kreslik
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1032
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 2:40 am
Reputation: 0
Location: Monte Carlo, Monaco
Real name: Michal Kreslik
Gender: Male
Contact:

Postby michal.kreslik » Mon Sep 03, 2007 8:25 am

Little Wolf,

I don't trade options at all, so I can't comment on this. I'm trading on Forex and I can definitely recommend switching from Tradestation if you're trading Forex.

Michal

Little Wolf
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:42 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Options trading

Postby Little Wolf » Tue Sep 04, 2007 6:20 am

Mr. Kreslik,

Thanks again for the quick response.

To be more precise, I'm interested in spreads and using options as one strategy or a part of a strategy. Well, I'm sure you know of OptionStation and the risk profiles. Does NT have anything like that?

Also as a Forex trader, what timeframe do you trade? What I'm getting at is, does lightening speed of tic delivery really matter so much in say a 60 minute chart, or am I missing the point?


Little Wolf

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

User avatar
michal.kreslik
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1032
Joined: Sat May 13, 2006 2:40 am
Reputation: 0
Location: Monte Carlo, Monaco
Real name: Michal Kreslik
Gender: Male
Contact:

Postby michal.kreslik » Tue Sep 04, 2007 6:38 am

LittleWolf,

once again, I don't trade options, so I never really tried the Tradestation's OptionStation. Thus, I can't compare the features of OptionStation and NeoTicker. Perhaps some option trader here on the forum could help you with that.

I am trading off of the raw tick data on Forex.

The proper tick data time alignment is crucial for some systems. For instance, I'm now collecting the tick data with millisecond precision from Interactive Brokers and EFX. My price collector refuses to start collecting if the offset between the datafeed time and the atomic time (synced from US military servers) is more than 500 ms and it stops collecting if the offset becomes higher than 2000 ms during the collecting.

This way, I've found, for instance, that starting this Monday, EFX began timestamping their ticks about 3 seconds in the future for some weird reason. I've already informed their staff about that.

Obviously, if your systems only require end of day data, you don't care about tick data time alignment. But I'm working and a fully automated FPI arbitrage framework (see the concept here) for a couple of clients and there the data timing is everything.

Michal

Little Wolf
rank: <50 posts
rank: <50 posts
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 10:42 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby Little Wolf » Sun Sep 09, 2007 6:22 pm

Mr. Kreslik,


Thanks for the insight. That was very revealing. When you are day trading, it seems to me that the floor (so to speak) has an advantage) so what you say is really compelling.

As to my issues with TS, I contacted them and they have been very helpful. They have someone in tech support named Melody who has been with Omega almost since the beginning and she is willing to help me on an ongoing basis.


Regards,


LittleWolf

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.


Return to “beginners forum”