Indicators By Insanity Industries

If you don't know where to start, start here! Don't be afraid to ask questions.

Moderator: moderators

User avatar
newark18
rank: 500+ posts
rank: 500+ posts
Posts: 515
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 3:32 am
Reputation: 0
Real name: James
Gender: Male

Postby newark18 » Sun Apr 11, 2010 2:23 pm

Where are you going MO until December?
Failure is an opportunity to learn.

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

User avatar
prochargedmopar
rank: 5000+ posts
rank: 5000+ posts
Posts: 5545
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 6:07 am
Reputation: 8
Location: Granbury, TX
Gender: Male
Contact:

Postby prochargedmopar » Sun Apr 11, 2010 6:25 pm

MightyOne,

Is this the hypothetical location of Z that you speak of?

Picture for learning purposes only.........I'm not predicting the future market move.

Image

Thx, have a peaceful and refreshing break!!!
Last edited by prochargedmopar on Sun Apr 11, 2010 8:26 pm, edited 2 times in total.
#1BODY in direction of profit #2INCREASE lot size Obsessively
My Losses cause me Great Laughter!
Trading Bible here> therumpledone/the-ideas-that-i-trade-by-t3256/page1670

User avatar
prochargedmopar
rank: 5000+ posts
rank: 5000+ posts
Posts: 5545
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 6:07 am
Reputation: 8
Location: Granbury, TX
Gender: Male
Contact:

Postby prochargedmopar » Sun Apr 11, 2010 7:07 pm

Bredin,

Please, Please build this indicator!!

My son (7) ask me what a fractal was. That opened the flood gates.
My 15yo doesn't have much interest but the little guy does.
He's my new trading buddy.

I started to explain what dealing ranges were and that got me to thinking that this kid would have no fear. I've got to be VERY careful what I say to him as not to create it.

Anyway, when they play video games all they have is "lives".......and then can either build up from 3 to a 100(some games when you good) or go to zero and start over again.

Wouldn't it be great to be able to do as es/pip does and never have to look at P/L until the end of the day...........just how many LIVES you have left or have gained.

You might be able to use TRO_Dragon Money management to get the balance, risk % and lot sizes.

With this indicator you would have to keep the lot size the same so the # of lives would change and not the percentage of risk.
Hope you understand what I'm saying. After I made it to 100 or 120 lives then I could up the pip value to drop back to 79,89, (or what ever cushion a person feels comfortable with) and start to build again.

It would look something like this.

Image

I attached that indicator just in case you want to use it but you may prefer to start from scratch.

I could calculate it manually after every trade and then change the DTB tag but that kind of defeats the purpose of not looking at your balance.
KodaMonster will be trading from the mt4 platform.


EDIT: you would still have to have an option to choose actual balance or external input like DragonMM for those that use another platform to trade from.
Attachments
TRO_DRAGON_MONEY_MGMT.mq4
(11.75 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
#1BODY in direction of profit #2INCREASE lot size Obsessively
My Losses cause me Great Laughter!
Trading Bible here> therumpledone/the-ideas-that-i-trade-by-t3256/page1670

User avatar
bredin
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1032
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:41 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby bredin » Sun Apr 11, 2010 10:43 pm

Thats actually a cool idea pro!

I start on that today:

heres the idea so far as I understand it:

This is for a sl that does not change: like in scalping?

at the start of the day (D1 bar? / user input?) the indi calculates the number of lives (entries) at the Risk (user input as %) and as trades are made shows the new value for lives.
I am assuming that LotSize for the day does not change for the duration of the day AND CANNOT GO DOWN. I may make this reset time user definable for D/W/M.

edit: user definable stop needed for risk calculation.

Sound Right?

G.
Welcome to the era of "Guns and Maskies" Trading!
The previous message contains discretion. Viewer nudity is advised.
Insanity Industries Indicators Here
Insanity Industries on YouTube!

User avatar
noone22
rank: 150+ posts
rank: 150+ posts
Posts: 390
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 4:50 am
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified

Postby noone22 » Mon Apr 12, 2010 12:08 am

In fact,
I'm currently struggling (with no luck so far)
under indicator, which will calculate and
show this x, y, z stuff (according to MO rules).
Either MO rules are not sufficient or I am
a complete dummie, but I still cannot figure it out
to program correctly.

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.

User avatar
prochargedmopar
rank: 5000+ posts
rank: 5000+ posts
Posts: 5545
Joined: Sat Dec 20, 2008 6:07 am
Reputation: 8
Location: Granbury, TX
Gender: Male
Contact:

Postby prochargedmopar » Mon Apr 12, 2010 12:23 am

Yes.
perfect.

We would have the option to change our stop/and or lots size at any time and it would calculate the amount of lives for those settings.
I don't really think we need a start time.

es/pip Says he does not look at p/l until end of day and I've seen that he uses 20 pip hard stop but gets out for much less when possible. Maybe it could show tenth's of lives.......(nothing to elaborate as lots of numbers/decimals may just be a nuisance like 5 digit pips)

It would be perfect for scalpers as you say because of the psychological stresses involved with big lots and 1:1 or less trading R:R.
Thx
#1BODY in direction of profit #2INCREASE lot size Obsessively
My Losses cause me Great Laughter!
Trading Bible here> therumpledone/the-ideas-that-i-trade-by-t3256/page1670

User avatar
bredin
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1032
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:41 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby bredin » Mon Apr 12, 2010 3:37 am

no worries, Im working on it now.
I will calculate lotsize at the start of (user defined) D1 W1 or MN1 bar (and at firstrun), and will not lose its place if you have to restart the terminal during that time :)

Image

looking right so far?
edit: the odd lotsize is cos that demo is in AUD.

next is reset times :) or should that be "New Game"

G.
Welcome to the era of "Guns and Maskies" Trading!
The previous message contains discretion. Viewer nudity is advised.
Insanity Industries Indicators Here
Insanity Industries on YouTube!

User avatar
bredin
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1032
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:41 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby bredin » Mon Apr 12, 2010 3:54 am

And then I thought, what if I reversed the process to set lives as a user input...

G.
Welcome to the era of "Guns and Maskies" Trading!
The previous message contains discretion. Viewer nudity is advised.
Insanity Industries Indicators Here
Insanity Industries on YouTube!

User avatar
bredin
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1032
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:41 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby bredin » Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:30 am

noone22 wrote:In fact,
I'm currently struggling (with no luck so far)
under indicator, which will calculate and
show this x, y, z stuff (according to MO rules).
Either MO rules are not sufficient or I am
a complete dummie, but I still cannot figure it out
to program correctly.


noone,

youre not a dummie, keep looking and you will SEE how MO does it. First learn to mark up a chart correctly, THEN try to make the computer do it. MOs rules are right there on that chart.

G.
Welcome to the era of "Guns and Maskies" Trading!
The previous message contains discretion. Viewer nudity is advised.
Insanity Industries Indicators Here
Insanity Industries on YouTube!

User avatar
bredin
rank: 1000+ posts
rank: 1000+ posts
Posts: 1032
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2009 10:41 pm
Reputation: 0
Gender: None specified
Contact:

Postby bredin » Mon Apr 12, 2010 4:39 am

Pro, you dont need to do an input for a separate account balance, you just create a demo with the exact balance you want:

from the new account tab just stick any val you like into the Deposit Field

ie
Image

it occurs to me that if you dont want to look at balance of another trade account then you cant update after every trade anyway. Even so Ive put an input in for this....

G.
Welcome to the era of "Guns and Maskies" Trading!
The previous message contains discretion. Viewer nudity is advised.
Insanity Industries Indicators Here
Insanity Industries on YouTube!

Please add www.kreslik.com to your ad blocker white list.
Thank you for your support.


Return to “beginners forum”